Buckwheat & Flax Pancakes (gluten free and relatively low carb)

I absolutely adore pancakes.

I was on a candida diet for a while (which basically avoids carbs and starchy/sugary foods), but have felt so much better since going on the diet that I’m finding I feel rather disgusting eating high carb foods, particularly anything processed, white rice, etc, and I’ve been keeping legumes, brown rice, potatoes, and corn to a minimum. I’m still not sure if I have a wheat/gluten intolerance (despite the lack of help from an allergy doctor), but I’ve been avoiding wheat and gluten as well. And I feel much better for it!

But I adore pancakes.

And I am super excited to say that I have come up with probably my favorite recipe for pancakes ever! AND they’re gluten free and relatively low carb (acceptable even for a candida diet). And they are as easy to make as anything out of a box. They have been a huge hit with my whole family, too. (The recipe also works without egg, although the texture is not as light and fluffy.)

Buckwheat & Flax Pancakes

  • 1/4 Cup Flax
  • 1 Cup Whole Buckwheat, ground to flour in a Blendtec, VitaMix, or clean coffee grinder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • ~1 T Zylitol (optional…or substitute your favorite sweetener)
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 to 1 1/2 Cups Water
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 T Coconut Oil (grapeseed oil would work as well)
  • 1 T Apple Cider Vinegar (such as Braggs)
  • Optional: Add about 1 to 1 1/2 Cups of peaches, blueberries, or your favorite fruit. (I usually skip the sweetener when I add fruit, but I like the pancakes less sweet.)

Preheat skillet on medium heat. You know it is hot enough when a drop of water sizzles on the skillet. Blend dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and blend well (add the apple cider vinegar last). Pour the batter onto the skillet in pancake-sized amounts. You will know they are ready to flip when you see bubbles forming in the middle, and the edges lose their glossiness. Flip and finish cooking.

If you make these, let me know if you get them to turn out and what you think!

This entry was published on September 1, 2012 at 4:48 am. It’s filed under candida stage two, dairy free, gluten free, legume free, recipes, soy free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Buckwheat & Flax Pancakes (gluten free and relatively low carb)

  1. This looks fantastic. I’ve been using the Pure Pantry’s Buckwheat & Flax mixture. But I don’t really like the idea of cream of tartar. I know it activates the baking soda. Is there something else I can use to sub that out

    • Yes. I’ve been using 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar (Braggs) in place of the cream of tartar and it works just as well. The only catch is that it foams like crazy if you mix it directly with the baking soda, so be sure to mix the dry ingredients first, then add wet ingredients last.

Leave a comment